top of page

Adapting to different genres

Things have been going well recently - the technicalities of the system are mostly smoothed out, and I get to have a lot of fun now. Things like hand-picking samples, adding further structural elements, and generally practising performing are all things I haven't really focused on until now, so it's nice to get out of the code and into the music!

A key aim of this project that I feel like I have not had enough focus on, is to 'further develop my artistic identity and live performance approaches, including the ability to create a large-scale set of works that are unified stylistically.'

Currently, the sonic outcomes of clicking the 'random' button is extremely vast... too much so! I guess I haven't really worked out exactly how I want this to sound, so this is something that I need to have a big thing about. Until then, however, I have some opportunites to explore a little bit more. For example, on October the 26th, I will be performing at a Halloween themed rave. The other musicians are DJing drum and bass, techno and other electronic music genres, so my fear is that with the current sound set, it will be stand out too much, and could be detrimental to the atmosphere of the evening. Thus, I have spent some time re-jigging the sample banks that I am using. All drum loops have been replaced by amen breaks, and all vocals have been replaced with drum and bass/neurofunk/dubstep bass 'wobbles'.

This isn't necessary the route that I want to go down musically, but this will be an opportunity to explore a different genre, and test out the flexibility of my moderation system. Currently it's sounding good - so I'm feeling hopeful!


bottom of page