top of page

Communicating with API

Being a fairly new user of Ableton, I had a lot of exploring to do, and this was not limited to MaxForLive devices but also the standard plugins that the DAW has to offer. I have been playing with some of the MIDI Effects such as arpeggiators and chord generators, and realized there could be a lot of potential in mapping these to a VST, such as Serum. I discovered that I could do exactly this by accessing the inner workings of the UI objects that Ableton consists of, using the API system. Using the Live API Overview and the LOM (Live Object Model) documents provided by Cycling74, I am beginning to apply this creatively. For example, I have created an LFO device in a MaxForLive device and mapped it to the API pathway that represents the cutoff frequency dial in a M4L Synthesizer device. This means that I can dynamically control parameters between M4L devices, or in this projects case algorithmically. I have no doubt that the Live API will be invaluable to this project, providing an even deeper level of flexibility and allowing me to 'hack' Ableton even further.


bottom of page